Workin’ In The South Land

By Maurie Nord

Left my shattered dreams

And a heart full of pain

Back in Vancouver

In the fog and the rain

Peddle to the metal

In my Chevrolet

Headin’ like a rebel

For the Dixie States

Guess I’m thinkin’ maybe

Uncle Sam has got some better news

But if he tells me

“BOY YER WRONG!”

At least I love to sing the blues

Like they do down there

People in the south land

Know how to play

Strangers call me “honey pie”

And treat me great

Lots of southern belles to help me celebrate

Workin’ in the south land USA

Copyright Maurie Nord 2014

mississipi queen

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

