Murphy The Wordsmith

clancy olafferty

Murphy The Wordsmith
by Clancy O’Lafferty

Murphy The Wordsmith Studies Accents And English Dialects

Irish:

“Clancy, is that yourself? Aye, aye tis me self and none other.”

Aussie:

“G’day mate, oyd like an oyce cold Foster’s laggah please”

“Watch out for the Noahs mate!”

(Watch out for the sharks mate!”

“No worries, she’ll be royt!”

Newfoundlander (Newfie) :

“BECKY POPE WHERE YA BE?”
“I’M ON DA ODDER ONE SIDES O’ Da HOOSE!”

(I’m on the other side of the house)

“ALRIGHT, STAY WHERE YOU IS AND I’LL COME WHERE YER TO!”

“Alright, stay where you’re at and I’ll come to you”

Ukrainian:

“Vat iss elevator? Dat iss vat iss livink in swamp an makin’ luckich an’ vallet outa dat bastud”

(What is an alligator? It lives in the swamp and they make luggage and wallets out of those bastards)

“Vat iss violence? Dat iss small guitar vat hold under chin an vit stick playingk it”

(What are violins? They are small guitars that you hold under your chin and play with a stick)

Chinese:

“You habba libbah onyo sumpty-fi shen”

(You had liver and onions…that’s s 75 cents)

Korean:

“I go pishee in a libbah”

(I’m going fishing in the river)

Southern African American:

“You guy gone toon o’ sumpin?”

(Are you guys going touring or something?”

“Yeah, lakka do dat m’seff some tie if I get da chanch ya know’m sayin’?

(Yeah, I’d like to do that myself sometime if I get the chance do you know what I’m saying?)

German 1939:

“Ladies unt chentlemen ziss iss your captain speaking. Ve are flying at une altitute of tventy-four sousan feet unt zer iss no turbulence.  Ve vill be landing safely in a few minutes……IF… YOU…. COOPERATE!!”

leprechaun laughing

Copyright Maurie Nord 2014

Leave a Reply

