O’Lafferty Attempts Free Verse

clancy olafferty

 

O’Lafferty Attempts Free Verse

 

 

A Leaf And A Bird

by Clancy O’Lafferty

(first draft)

 

“I saw a leaf fall and a bird fly by and…

And I sensed…”

 

oops! He pooped in me eye!

Let’s see I’ll start again now

Don’t Rhyme  now O’Lafferty!

 

“I saw a leaf fall and a bird fly by

And I sensed, somehow that

The two were connected…”

 

(Good job! Now, you see, Clancy O’Lafferty

You do not have to rhyme everything. You have a natural rhyme in the first verse, “bird fly by” and that’s fine I opine)

 

“I saw a leaf fall and a bird fly by

And I sensed, somehow that

The two were connected

Veins in bird

Blood

Veins in leaf

Sap

Both flowing…..food digested

 

Ah….no no no…..did ya see how ya couldn’t  resist half-rhymin’ “digested” to “connected”?

Now cut that out never mind Wilfred Owen and write free style!

 

“I saw a leaf fall and a bird fly by

And I sensed, somehow that

The two were connected

Veins in bird

Blood

Veins in leaf

Sap

Both flowing food nourishing….

Perhaps a worm for the bird…

 

 

 

“I saw a leaf fall and a bird fly by

And I sensed, somehow that

The two were connected

Veins in bird

Blood

Veins in leaf

Sap

Both flowing food absorbed….”

Perhaps a worm…

 

Now that’s better 

 

“I saw a leaf fall and a bird fly by

And I sensed, somehow that

The two were connected

Veins in bird

Blood

Veins in leaf

Sap

Both flowing food absorbed….”

Perhaps a worm…the sea worm yes

The sea-worm crawls — grotesque, slimed, dumb, indifferent

 

Oh, that’s pretty good O’Lafferty, but I’ve heard that line before and I can Hardy remember where it was now try harder you idiot!

 

“I saw a leaf fall and a bird fly by

And I sensed, somehow that

The two were connected

Veins in bird

Blood

Veins in leaf

Sap

Both flowing food absorbed….”

Perhaps a worm…

Perhaps earth’s juices

One will fall before the other

Both will turn to dust

First the bird? Not the leaf

First the bird?

Yes, but then the tree!”

HAHAHAHA! I couldn’t help it!!!

 

copyright Maurie Nord 2014

 

leprechaun laughing

 

 

Leave a Reply

