SEA OWL!

globe

SEA OWL!

By Maurie Nord

When I was six years old I spun the globe

I spun the globe and found Sea Owl

SEA OWL! HA! HA! SEA OWL! SEA OWL!

The globe was at the front of the room

And every day when I went to school

I ran up to the front to spin the globe

And find that funny place again

SEA OWL! HA! HA! SEA OWL! SEA OWL!

Decades pass

I had forgotten all about that first grade class

Spinning the globe and Sea Owl

I never dreamed I would ever come here

Had no desires, plans or ideas

But Someone who sees the all in all

Who knows the end from the beginning

Saw that little boy spin the globe

And knew that I’d come to Korea

He reminded me of that

When one time I felt,

“Am I REALLY where I am meant to be?

He reached into my memory

Like a magician reaches into his magic hat

And pulled out for me Sea Owl! Sea Owl!

“I was watching you then as I’m watching you now

You are in the right place, though not in Seoul

The capital of the country to which I have called you

And as I was then

I Am with you now””

He must have led me to find that name

I would not have remembered a name like Pusan

No meaning for a six-year old and rather bland

But my eyes opened wide when I found Sea Owl

SEA OWL! HA! HA! SEA OWL! SEA OWL!

And I wept when I remembered

SEA OWL

Copyright Maurie Nord 2014


seoul on the globe

One thought on “SEA OWL!

Leave a Reply

