Directions

Image

DIRECTIONS

By Clancy O’Lafferty

 

“Top o’ the mornin’”,

Hennesey said to a gentleman on the street corner.

He looked at the sky,

“You be right!” He replied,

“For sure and b’ gory it’s warmer.”

 

“Can you spare me some time,”

said Hennesey, kindly, there’s somethin’, I’d like to be learnin’”.

“Well certainly, sir,

I would happily serve you,

Now, what’s on your mind that’s so burnin’?

 

“Well, I’m wantin’ to find

An old friend o’ mine

At the Arlington Hotel O’Connell

Bein’ new to this town

I am lookin’ around

If the Hotel is here, where’s it gone to?”

 

“Well, I see the concern by the frown on your face,

And the lines ‘tween your eyes are not lyin’.

Set your mind now at ease

And be be truly at peace

For I’ll help you or I’m not O’Brian.

 

Now, if you walk straight

Down this cobbly street

And turn right at the very next corner

Then if you go straight

And turn right again

For sure you’ll be gettin’ much warmer

 

Then if once again

You turn right and then

You go straight and continue you’ll see it

And sir when you do

I’d gladly join you

For a drink there, now please say, ‘So be it’”

 

“So be it! Join us for whiskey my friend!

And for all your kind help you deserve it!

But there’s only one question I’m askin’ of you

And I know now that you’d never swerve it.

So, if I walk straight

Down this cobbly street

And turn right at the very next corner

Then if I go straight

And turn right again

For sure I’ll be gettin’ much warmer

Then if once again

I turn right and then

I go straight and continue, you Corker,

Then after all that,

I’ll be here it’s a fact

Standin’ right with you on this street corner!”

 

“Well, you’re clever, me man,

To so fast understand

All of that and your brain can’t be beat

I would still love the drink

And I’ve earned it I think

The hotel is right there ‘cross the street.”

 

Inspired by Irish comedian, Hal Roach

poem copyright Maurie Nord 2014

Image

 

 

One thought on “Directions

Leave a Reply

